The Wired Forum Index The Wired
:)
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Silly Quake Server
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Wired Forum Index -> Games
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JJW009
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 6538
Location: Midlands

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 9:52 pm    Post subject: Silly Quake Server Reply with quote

It anyone has Quake 3 Arena and wants to play over t'internet then post here or prod me on MSN. The Silly Server is:



quake.yourwired.net:27960



But only when I'm actually on-line. I'm not gonna stand there dying over and over again for you amusement laugh.gif




--------------------


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
paulpowers



Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 1316
Location: High peak

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 8:45 am    Post subject: Silly Quake Server Reply with quote

Aww go on




--------------------


Dreams come at the cost of reality
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
RedeyesUK



Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Posts: 2530
Location: Over there, then left a bit..no, a bit more..that's it!

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:54 pm    Post subject: Silly Quake Server Reply with quote

Hmm, I'd better get a copy and get some practice in then.



There's nothing like being ripped to shreds while you're trying to figure out which key changes your weapon! rolleyes.gif
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JJW009
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 6538
Location: Midlands

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 10:00 pm    Post subject: Silly Quake Server Reply with quote

I like to use the wheel mouse to change weapen - except I keep forgetting! When I started to play they hadn't invented the wheel laugh.gif




--------------------


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
belchingmatt



Joined: 31 Jan 2006
Posts: 2893
Location: Spartaaa

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 10:04 pm    Post subject: Silly Quake Server Reply with quote

That sounds about right for UT, well if you hadn't been ripped off for the price of a wheel mouse as they were at the time. These days we have laser mice, tomorrow it will be gamma-ray mice, and next well next week it will probably be telepathy. ninja.gif




--------------------


I'm not addicted to porn, I'm addicted to masturbation. Porn is just an enabler.



user posted image

There are plenty more fish in the sea, get your tackle out and see what bites.



Divers go deeper and stay down for longer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
paulpowers



Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 1316
Location: High peak

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:12 am    Post subject: Silly Quake Server Reply with quote

If your looking for good UT action head over to the EZE clan server

Server list

They have some mental mods like the penis gun on the insane server (guess what it fires)




--------------------


Dreams come at the cost of reality
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
JJW009
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 6538
Location: Midlands

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 9:56 pm    Post subject: Silly Quake Server Reply with quote

It should be on-line now; but I'm not really sure if it's working over the router... If you go to multiplayer and click "SPECIFY" and put in quake.yourwired.net then you should connect. It doesn't work for me though; not sure if that's because I'm inside the network already.



I'm not playing right now but there are a few really stupid bots in there you can frag. Also - there is a BFG if you can get it without getting squished! Let me know if it does / doesn't work for anyone?




--------------------


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JJW009
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 6538
Location: Midlands

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 10:19 pm    Post subject: Silly Quake Server Reply with quote

Well I think it works - a player called Redeyes just logged in with a ping of 100. I guess I'm gonna have a bit of an unfair advantage - my ping was about 5 laugh.gif



Only a day and half late. Never mind dry.gif




--------------------


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RedeyesUK



Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Posts: 2530
Location: Over there, then left a bit..no, a bit more..that's it!

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 10:23 pm    Post subject: Silly Quake Server Reply with quote

JJW009 wrote:
I guess I'm gonna have a bit of an unfair advantage - my ping was about 5 laugh.gif


What an excellent excuse. I think I'll use that. eusa_whistle.gif
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JJW009
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 6538
Location: Midlands

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 1:35 pm    Post subject: Silly Quake Server Reply with quote

Looks like they have release the sauce:



http://ioquake3.org/?page=get



but you still need the PAK files for the game data. There is however, an OpenArena which I shall be investigating further when I'm not supposed to be working...



http://openarena.ws/?about



If it's any good, or if I find a better Open Sauce version then I'll convert to that. In the mean time; Quake3 can be found Used for about 2.99 if you want the shiny disk laugh.gif




--------------------


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
belchingmatt



Joined: 31 Jan 2006
Posts: 2893
Location: Spartaaa

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 11:51 am    Post subject: Silly Quake Server Reply with quote

I just had a quick play to see if I could and had a ping of 70-75. Doesn't help to explain why I was getting kicked from the CPC servers last night for breaking the 150 ping limit.




--------------------


I'm not addicted to porn, I'm addicted to masturbation. Porn is just an enabler.



user posted image

There are plenty more fish in the sea, get your tackle out and see what bites.



Divers go deeper and stay down for longer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
JJW009
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 6538
Location: Midlands

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 11:59 am    Post subject: Silly Quake Server Reply with quote

LOL - my old XP1800 is running the server on a regular 1Meg ADSL line. You'd think they could improve on that laugh.gif



Actually the bots are still playing - trouble with that level is; they're never going to hit the frag limit. They keep commiting suicide and everyone has negative scores!!



I'd better go and give them a good thrashing. I could simply kill them from the command interface... but that would mean remembering how to type "kill all bots" or something not much fun laugh.gif




--------------------


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JJW009
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 6538
Location: Midlands

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 2:49 pm    Post subject: Silly Quake Server Reply with quote

It's currently off line because it crashed; and I'm trying to find a better level. I really like that level but the bots really don't!!



Also; I'm moving this thread to the games forum. Duh!




--------------------


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JJW009
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Jul 2005
Posts: 6538
Location: Midlands

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 4:22 pm    Post subject: Silly Quake Server Reply with quote

Code:
Kill: 0 1 3: Razor killed Keel by MOD_MACHINEGUN

Item: 4 item_health

Item: 0 item_health_large

Item: 1 ammo_slugs

Item: 3 weapon_railgun

Item: 3 ammo_rockets

Item: 1 weapon_rocketlauncher

Item: 2 item_armor_combat

Item: 2 weapon_grenadelauncher

Kill: 4 0 1: Qd2 DEATH! killed Razor by MOD_SHOTGUN

Item: 2 ammo_slugs

Kill: 4 3 1: Qd2 DEATH! killed Xaero by MOD_SHOTGUN

Exit: Fraglimit hit.

score: 10  ping: 10  client: 4 Qd2 DEATH!

score: 8  ping: 0  client: 1 Keel

score: 7  ping: 0  client: 0 Razor

score: 6  ping: 0  client: 3 Xaero

score: 3  ping: 0  client: 2 Stripe

broadcast: print "Qd2 DEATH! hit the fraglimit.\n"

say: Stripe: Where were you when I was on Beta-3?

Stripe: Where were you when I was on Beta-3?

say: Keel: hehehe

Keel: hehehe

broadcast: print "Qd2 DEATH! disconnected\n"

ClientDisconnect: 4




There you go; that's more challenging!!



Remember to add the server to your favourites and poke me if you fancy a non-bot combatant laugh.gif




--------------------


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bally199



Joined: 05 Jun 2008
Posts: 109
Location: In your base annoying your dudes

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 12:20 am    Post subject: Silly Quake Server Reply with quote

Is it gonna be on any time soon eh?



I'm kinda missing out on pwning n00bz... laugh.gif laugh.gif



Adam,






--------------------


Someone on iPodTouchFans wrote:
This is iPodTouchFans, not Erection Fans!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Wired Forum Index -> Games All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You can edit your posts in this forum
You can delete your posts in this forum
You can vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group